Do Pharmacy Technicians get regulated in Alabama?
Yes, they do.
Is certification required for one to practice as Pharmacy Technician in Alabama?
No, however a certified Pharmacy Technician is most likely more advantageous in career upgrading and promotion.
What are the approved certification exams required by the State Board of Pharmacy in Alabama?
The approved certification exams include PTCB (PTCE) and/or ICPT (ExCPT).
When does Pharmacy Technician registration start?
Pharmacy Technician registration usually starts on October 1 and closes on December 31 of the same registration year.
Is Pharmacy Technician licensure required in Alabama?
Yes, because registration certificate is a basic requirement before technicians can work in a pharmacy.
What should I do to become a Licensed Pharmacy Technician in Alabama?
- You have to be at least 17 years old or older.
- You must download the application forms at www.albop.com and submit a written application requesting registration as a Pharmacy Technician at the Alabama State Board of Pharmacy.
- Make sure the application form is signed by you and duly notarized before submitting.
- You must include your recent (at least within 6 months) passport-type photo.
- Include the $60 biennial registration fee either in money order or personal check.
Is training required for Pharmacy Technicians in Alabama?
No, however, once you become a licensed Pharmacy Technician, you are required to work under direct supervision of a licensed pharmacist in Alabama.
Are Pharmacy Technicians required to have a Continuing Education or CE?
Yes, Pharmacy Technicians who practice in Alabama must obtain 3 hours of continuing education; one hour of which is subject to a live credit hour. Technicians can received CE credit for any CE hour that is either approved by the Alabama Board of Pharmacy (ABOP) or ACPE-T (Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education-Technician).
How often is the Pharmacy Technician License renewal required?
Alabama License for Pharmacy Technicians must be renewed biennially on odd-numbered years.
What must be done if I change jobs or change my home address?
The Alabama State Board of Pharmacy must be notified within 10 days. Download the appropriate form and applications from www.albop.com and fill them out correctly then submit.
Other Alabama Pharmacy Technician requirements to keep in mind:
- Alabama pharmacy technician’s certificate must be displayed at a designated place in the pharmacy at all times.
- Technicians must wear their nametag at all times during working hours to identify him or her as a pharmacy technician.
- Pharmacy technicians can only perform pharmacy functions that do not require professional judgment and should not handle controlled substances.
- In the State of Alabama, for every licensed pharmacist on-duty must have three (3) technicians in the prescription area. One of which must have a certification through the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) or the institute for the certification of Pharmacy Technicians (ICPT).
Alabama State Board of Pharmacy
Office: 111 Village St., Hoover, AL 35242
Telephone No.: 205-981-2280
Mail: P.O. Box 381988 Birmingham, AL 35238
Alabama Association of Pharmacy Technicians (ALAPT)