Do Pharmacy Technicians get regulated in Kansas?
Yes, Pharmacy Technicians do get regulated in Kansas.
Is certification required for one to practice as Pharmacy Technician in Kansas?
No, however a certified Pharmacy Technician is most likely going to be more feasible to get better job opportunities than those who do not have board approved certification.
What are the approved certification exams required by the State Board of Pharmacy in Kansas?
The approved certification exams include PTCB (PTCE) and/or ICPT (ExCPT).
When does Pharmacy Technician registration starts?
Pharmacy Technician registration is required before starting to work.
Is Pharmacy Technician licensure required in Kansas?
Yes, you must be able to obtain license before accepting employment in a pharmacy.
What should I do to become a License Pharmacy Technician?
- Submit a written application requesting registration as a Pharmacy Technician at the Kansas State Board of Pharmacy. Download application here.
- You must take a 20-minute exam administered by the pharmacist-in-charge and must get a passing grade of 75% within 30 days of being a registered pharmacy technician.
- Include the $25 registration fee. Fees are non-refundable.
Is training required for Pharmacy Technicians in Kansas?
Yes, the pharmacist-in-charged are required to conduct training to their own technicians and must keep accurate records.
Are Pharmacy Technicians required to have a Continuing Education or CE?
No, pharmacy technicians are not required to have continuing education by the State Board of Pharmacy in Kansas.
How often is the Pharmacy Technician License renewal required?
Kansas License for Pharmacy Technicians must be renewed biennially. Licenses expire on the 31st of October of the renewal year. Take note that application forms are not available online and are sent to the license holder’s home address by the State Board of Pharmacy in Kansas. The renewal fee is $25.
What must be done if I change jobs or change my home address?
The Kansas State Board of Pharmacy must be notified of the changes within 30 days.
More good to know information about Kansas Pharmacy Technician:
- Kansas pharmacy technician’s certificate must be displayed at a designated place in the pharmacy at all times.
- For every pharmacist, only two technicians may be appointed under his direct supervision. However, the pharmacist may supervise up to three technicians provided two of them have obtained board approved certification.
- The pharmacist-in-charge is responsible for all actions of the pharmacy technicians.
Kansas Board of Pharmacy
Office: 800 SW Jackson Street, Suite 1414. Topeka, Kansas 66612
Telephone: 785-296-4056 Fax: 785-296-8420
Professional Association for Pharmacy Techs:
Kansas Pharmacists Association