Do Pharmacy Technicians get regulated in Maryland?
Yes, Pharmacy Technicians do get regulated in Maryland.
Is certification required for one to practice as Pharmacy Technician in Maryland?
No. If you are not certified you need to undergo a 160 hours of training that is approved by Maryland State Board of Pharmacy.
What are the approved certification exams required by the State Board of Pharmacy in Maryland?
The approved certification exams include PTCB (PTCE) and/or ICPT (ExCPT).
When is registration for Pharmacy Technician required?
Pharmacy Technician students who are in State Board of Pharmacy training program (verified) must wait for the program to finish and must passed the exam (not longer than 6 months) to register. However, you must register immediately if you are already a certified pharmacy technician.
Is Pharmacy Technician licensure required in Maryland?
Yes, pharmacy technicians are required to get their license before they can practice in Maryland.
What should I do to become a License Pharmacy Technician?
- You have to be at least 17 years old or older.
- Must have a high school diploma or its equivalent or may be currently enrolled in high school with good academic standing.
- You must submit a written application requesting registration as a Pharmacy Technician at the Maryland State Board of Pharmacy.
- You must submit to a criminal background check. You will need to pay an additional fee for that which will cost around $38. Give payment directly to the CJIS (Criminal Justice Information System).
- Include a proof of certification in your application if you are already a certified pharmacy technician.
- If you are not a certified pharmacy technician yet, you must attach proof that you have successfully completed a Board approved training program and have passed the Board approved exam as well and include it in your application.
- Include the $45 non-refundable registration fee.
Are Pharmacy Technicians required to have a Continuing Education or CE?
Yes, a 10-hour training of approved continuing education within the 2-year period is required immediately after your first renewal application and 20 hours thereafter.
How often is the Pharmacy Technician License renewal required?
Licenses for Pharmacy Technicians in Maryland will expire on the last day of the birth of the registrant. His or her license must be renewed on the 1st year after the initial registration. Thereafter, license may be renewed for a term not longer than 2 years. Renewal applications may be downloaded or sent to your home address by the State Board of Pharmacy in Maryland with a renewal fee of $45.
What must be done if I change jobs or change my home address?
You must report any change of address or job to the Maryland State Board of Pharmacy.
Another “must know” requirement for Maryland Pharmacy Technician:
- Maryland pharmacy technicians cannot administer flu shots.
- Pharmacy technicians can only perform pharmacy functions that do not require professional judgment.
- It is the responsibility of the supervising technicians to account for all the actions of the pharmacy technician.
Maryland Board of Pharmacy
Office: 201 West Preston Street. Baltimore, MD 21201
Telephone: 410-767-6500 or toll-free 877-463-3464 Fax: 410-358-6207
Professional Association for Maryland pharmacy techs:
Maryland Pharmacists Association