Do Pharmacy Technicians get regulated in Texas?
Yes, they do not regulate Pharmacy Technicians in Texas.
Is certification required for one to practice as Pharmacy Technician in Texas?
Yes, Texas State Board of Pharmacy requires certification to become a Registered Pharmacy Technician. But it is not required to become a Pharmacy Technician Trainee.
Take note though that there are exemptions allowed like being employed as a pharmacy technician for at least 10 straight years. Another exemption is working in rural counties with a population of 50,000 or less if certain eligibility requirements are met. Find more certification exemptions here.
What are the approved certification exams required by the State Board of Pharmacy in Texas?
The approved certification exam in Texas is PTCB.
When is registration required to Pharmacy Technicians?
Pharmacy Technician must apply for registration before practicing as a pharmacy technician trainee or a pharmacy technician.
Is Pharmacy Technician registration required in Texas?
Yes, the Texas State Board of Pharmacy does require Pharmacy Technicians to obtain registration before working in a pharmacy.
What should I do to become a License Pharmacy Technician?
- Registered Pharmacy Technicians must have their PTCB certificate at hand
- Must have a high school diploma or its equivalent
- Must pass the criminal record check and willing to submit fingerprint information.
- You must submit a written application requesting pharmacy technician registration to the Texas State Board of Pharmacy. Download form here.
- Must pay the application fee of $41 for pharmacy trainee or $64 for registered pharmacy technician applicants in Texas.
Is training required for Pharmacy Technicians in Texas?
Yes, pharmacy technicians are required to undergo training which will be provided by the employing pharmacy. Pharmacy technician may obtain their training in a formal education. However, there is no specific training that is approved by the State Board of Pharmacy in Texas but obtaining education through ASHP accredited programs are recommended.
Are Pharmacy Technicians required to have a Continuing Education or CE?
Yes, Registered Pharmacy Technicians are required to complete 20 contact hours every renewal period. But this requirement may be waived if the pharmacy technician can maintain certification through PTCB. However, trainees are not required to complete continuing education hours.
How often is the Pharmacy Technician renewal required?
Registered Pharmacy technician must renew their license every 2 years. Take note that an applicant needs to submit an initial application, if the registration has been expired for more than a year. The fee for registered pharmacy technician is $80 and may be accomplished here. For trainee technicians, registration is valid for 2 years and is not required to be renewed.
What must be done if I change jobs or change my home address?
You may change your address or job by obtaining a form from its website division or click here.
More good to know requirements for Pharmacy Technicians in Texas:
- Pharmacy technicians must be registered at the Texas State Board of Pharmacy even if you have a formal education or have an externship experience as part of the program.
- It will take 2 to 3 weeks for the application to get processed for those without criminal records but for those with criminal history, it will take a minimum of 4-6 months.
Texas Board of Pharmacy
Office: Texas State Board of Pharmacy, 333 Guadalupe St., Tower 3, Suite 600. AUstin, TX 78701
Phone: (512) 305-8000
Fax: (512) 305-8082
Professional Association for Texas pharmacy technicians:
The Texas Pharmacy Association