Do Pharmacy Technicians get regulated in Massachusetts?
Yes, Pharmacy Technicians do get regulated in Massachusetts.
Is certification required for one to practice as Pharmacy Technician in Massachusetts?
No, however after successfully completing the Board-approved training program or 500 hours of pharmacy technician employment and passing the Board-approved exam, you are required to be either certified by the Massachusetts State Board of Pharmacy or nationally certified by PTCB or ICPT.
What are the approved certification exams required by the State Board of Pharmacy in Massachusetts?
The approved certification exams include PTCB (PTCE) and/or ICPT (ExCPT). The Board also accepts exam results from the approved pharmacy technician exams.
When does Pharmacy Technician registration starts?
Pharmacy Technician must complete training or certification before he or she can register.
Is Pharmacy Technician licensure required in Massachusetts?
Yes, the Massachusetts State Board of Pharmacy requires Pharmacy Technicians to obtain license.
What should I do to become a License Pharmacy Technician?
- You have to be at least 18 years old or older.
- Must have a high school diploma or its equivalent or currently enrolled as a high school student and in good standing.
- Must have no criminal record related to controlled substances.
- Must obtain a pharmacy technician application form from the Professional Credentialing Services Inc. (PCS) by downloading the form or calling number 1-877-887-9727.
- A non-refundable fee of $136 must be paid.
- Include proof of certification together with your application if you are a certified pharmacy technician.
- Include proof of having completed the Board-approved training program and passed the Board-approved exam in your application if you are already a certified pharmacy technician.
Is training required for Pharmacy Technicians in Massachusetts?
Yes, training is required if you are not nationally certified yet and must complete the Board-approved training program prior to licensure application.
Are Pharmacy Technicians required to have a Continuing Education or CE?
No, if you want to maintain your national certification as a pharmacy technician then continuing education is required by the Massachusetts State Board of Pharmacy.
How often is the Pharmacy Technician License renewal required?
Massachusetts License for Pharmacy Technicians must be renewed biennially. License will expire on the registrant’s birth date. The renewal fee is $51.
What must be done if I change jobs or change my home address?
The Massachusetts State Board of Pharmacy must be notified within 10 working days.
Other Massachusetts Pharmacy Technician requirements to keep in mind:
- Once an individual becomes a pharmacy technician trainee, he or she must not exceed 1000 hours before becoming a licensed pharmacy technician.
- Pharmacy Technicians must wear a nametag at all times during working hours to identify him or her as a pharmacy technician.
- The ratio of pharmacist to technician is 3 is to 1, provided one out of the three pharmacy technicians is an intern or a certified pharmacy technician.
- A pharmacy technician can only perform tasks that do not require professional judgment.
- The pharmacist-in-charge is responsible for all the actions of the pharmacy technician.
Massachusetts Board of Pharmacy
Office: 239 Causeway St, 2nd Floor. Boston, MA 02114
Telephone: 617-973-0950 Fax: 617-973-0983
Professional Association for Massachusetts pharmacy techs:
Massachusetts Pharmacists Association (MPhA)