Do Pharmacy Technicians get regulated in Minnesota?
Yes, Pharmacy Technicians do get regulated in Minnesota.
Is certification required for one to practice as Pharmacy Technician in Minnesota?
No, the Minnesota State Board of Pharmacy does not require certification for pharmacy technicians.
What are the approved certification exams required by the State Board of Pharmacy in Minnesota?
The approved certification exams are PTCB (PTCE) and/or ICPT (ExCPT).
When is the registration dates for Pharmacy Technicians?
Pharmacy Technicians must be registered before starting employment.
Is Pharmacy Technician licensure required in Minnesota?
Yes, license is required for individuals who want to practice as a pharmacy technician in Minnesota.
What should I do to become a License Pharmacy Technician?
- You have to be at least 18 years old or older.
- Starting January 2013, pharmacy technician licensure applicant must have a high school diploma.
- To be a licensed pharmacy technician, you must be knowledgeable about Minnesota’s Pharmacy Laws and Rules that states what pharmacy technicians can and cannot do.
- You must submit a written request to register as a license pharmacy technician to the Minnesota State Board of Pharmacy.
- Include the $135 registration fee. Take note that registration fee is non-refundable.
Is training required for Pharmacy Technicians in Minnesota?
As of this moment, training is provided in the pharmacy where you are employed under the supervision of a licensed pharmacist. But effective January 1, 2013 renewals of license for pharmacy technicians initially registered after January 1, 2012 must obtain Board-approved training from any of the following: Accredited Vocational/Technical Institution or College; PTCB or ICPT; 480 or more hours of employer-based training program; US Military or Public Health Service Training.
Are Pharmacy Technicians required to have a Continuing Education or CE?
Not at this time but may change as soon as the proposal is approved by the Minnesota State Board of Pharmacy. By then, pharmacy technicians will be required of a 20-hour continuing education for a period of two (2) years.
How often is the Pharmacy Technician License renewal required?
Minnesota License for Pharmacy Technicians must be renewed annually on or before the 1st of January of each year. The renewal form will be mailed to you or may be downloaded here. Renewal fee is $20.
What must be done if I change jobs or change my home address?
The Minnesota State Board of Pharmacy must be notified within 10 days.
More information that Minnesota Pharmacy Technician must know:
- Technicians must wear their nametag at all times during working hours to identify him or her as a pharmacy technician.
- Pharmacy technicians must identify himself or herself as the pharmacy technician when answering an electronic telephone communication and must never represent himself or herself as the pharmacist.
- The pharmacy-in-charge must prepare a list of procedures enumerating the duties of the pharmacy technician in the pharmacy. Each pharmacy technician must be provided with a copy and one copy must be kept on file.
- Pharmacy technicians are only allowed to perform tasks that do not require professional judgment.
- All actions of the pharmacy technician are under the responsibility of the pharmacist-in-charge or the supervising pharmacist.
- The pharmacist-in-charge may supervise only up to two pharmacy technician at one time. However, if there is a nationally certified pharmacy technician on duty, one more pharmacy technician may be added under his or her supervision.
Minnesota Board of Pharmacy
Office: 2829 University Ave. SE #530. Minneapolis, MN 55414-3251
Telephone: 651-201-2825 Fax: 651-201-2837
Professional Association for Minnesota Pharmacy Technicians:
Minnesota Pharmacists Association (MPhA)