Do Pharmacy Technicians get regulated in North Dakota?
Yes, pharmacy technicians are regulated in North Dakota.
Is certification required for one to practice as Pharmacy Technician in North Dakota?
Yes, recent licensed pharmacy technicians in North Dakota who does not have certification must be certified by March 2014.
Which exam is approved by the State Board of Pharmacy in North Dakota?
The approved exam is PTCB (PTCE).
When is registration for pharmacy technicians required?
Registration may be applied and obtained after completing the Board-approve education, training program and acquisition of certification. Another option is to apply for the pharmacy technician-in-training status and complete the requirements to become a licensed pharmacy technician within 2 years.
Are Pharmacy Technicians required to get their license in North Dakota?
Yes, Pharmacy Technicians working in North Dakota are required to get a license.
What should I do to become a License Pharmacy Technician in North Dakota?
- Must successfully complete an academic program or on-the-job training program that is approved by the State Board of Pharmacy in North Dakota under the supervision of a pharmacist-in-charge. As of January 10, 2011, the programs approved by the Board are those Accredited by the American Society of Health Systems Pharmacists (ASHP).
- Must be able to pass the Board-Approve PTCE exam and receive national certification.
- Submit the completed pharmacy technician application requesting for registration to the North Dakota State Board of Pharmacy. You may download the form here.
- Pay the application fee amounting to $35 (non-refundable) and include a passport type photo.
- Submit a written application as a “pharmacy technician-in-training to the State Board of Pharmacy in North Dakota requesting registration as a pharmacy technician-in-training. Find downloadable application form here. Send this form together with the application fee of $10 including a passport-type photo. Training must be completed within 2 years. Then you may get the North Dakota licensure as a certified pharmacy technician.
Is training required for Pharmacy Technicians in North Dakota?
Yes, a training program is required by the State Board of Pharmacy in North Dakota to Pharmacy Technicians under the supervision of a licensed pharmacist.
Are Pharmacy Technicians required to have a Continuing Education or CE?
Yes, however a pharmacy technician is exempted from CE requirements during their first year of license renewal. After that, pharmacy technicians must complete a 10-hour continuing education each year before the renewal period. More so, CE requirements must be completed to keep your national certification.
How often is the Pharmacy Technician License renewal required?
North Dakota license for Pharmacy Technicians must be renewed annually on the 1st of March with a renewal fee of $35.
What should be done if I change jobs or change my home address?
Report any changes to the North Dakota State Board of Pharmacy within 15 days.
Other North Dakota Pharmacy Technician requirements to keep in mind:
- Technicians should wear name tags all the time to identify themselves as the pharmacy technician and must display their certificate where it can be seen.
- Pharmacy technicians may only perform tasks that do not require professional judgment.
- All actions undertaken by the pharmacy technician is under the responsibility of the supervising pharmacist.
- The Pharmacist-in-charge may supervise three to four pharmacy technicians depending on the work setting.
North Dakota State Board of Pharmacy
Office: 1906 E. Broadway Avenue. Bismarck, ND 58501-1354
Mail: PO Box 94986
Professional Association for North Dakota Pharmacy Technicians:
North Dakota Pharmacists Association (NDPhA)