Do Pharmacy Technicians get regulated in Oregon?
Yes, pharmacy technicians are regulated in Oregon.
Is certification required for Pharmacy Technicians in Oregon?
Yes. Ohio State Board of Pharmacy entitles you to a 1 year registration allowing pharmacy technicians to work in a pharmacy while completing the on-the-job training at the same time passing the Board-Approved exam required to become nationally certified.
What exams are approved by the State Board of Pharmacy in Oregon?
The approved exams are PTCB (PTCE) and ICPT (ExCPT)
When is registration for pharmacy technicians required?
Registration must be applied prior to the start of employment.
Are Pharmacy Technicians required to get their license in Oregon?
Yes, Pharmacy Technicians working in Oregon are required to get a license.
What should I do to become a License Pharmacy Technician in Oregon?
- Must have a high school diploma or its equivalent.
- Must hold a national certification or working towards obtaining one.
- Must submit a written application to the Oregon State Board of Pharmacy requesting registration for pharmacy technician. Application may be downloaded here.
- For pharmacy technician applying for a 1 year non-renewable license while processing his or her national certification must submit a different form. Download it here.
- Must pay the non-refundable fee of $50 plus the background check fee of $52
- Submit a passport type ID.
- Submit proof of identification, either a driver’s license or Oregon ID.
Must be willing to submit to a criminal background check and fingerprinting.
Is training required for Pharmacy Technicians in Oregon?
Yes, a training program is required by the State Board of Pharmacy in Oregon to Pharmacy Technicians under the supervision of a licensed pharmacist. A record of the training must be kept.
Are Pharmacy Technicians required to have a Continuing Education or CE?
Yes, pharmacy technicians are required to have continuing education by the Oregon State Board of Pharmacy. On top of that, pharmacy technicians are required to complete a 1-hour Oregon Pharmacy Law every year except the first licensure year.
How often is the Pharmacy Technician License renewal required?
License renewal for Pharmacy Technician must be renewed annually. Licenses expire on the 31st of August every year. You may renew online and pay $40. A renewal reminder is usually sent by the Oregon State Board of Pharmacy.
What should be done if I change jobs or change my home address?
Report any changes to the Oregon State Board of Pharmacy within 15 days. Make sure to include the correct information on your next renewal online.
Other Oregon Pharmacy Technician requirements to keep in mind:
- The technician must be distinctively identified as the pharmacy technician to the public and display his or her license in the pharmacy.
- Pharmacy technicians may only perform tasks that do not require professional judgment.
- All actions undertaken by the pharmacy technician is under the responsibility of the supervising pharmacist.
- Pharmacist-in-charge is allowed to supervise up to two pharmacy technicians in the pharmacy.
Oregon State Board of Pharmacy
Office: Portland State Office Building, 800 NE Oregon St., Suite 150. Portland, OR 97232-2162
Professional Association for Oregon Pharmacy Technicians:
Oregon State Pharmacy Association (OSPA)