Do Pharmacy Technicians get regulated in Rhode Island?
Yes, they do not regulate Pharmacy Technicians in Rhode Island.
Is certification required for one to practice as Pharmacy Technician in Rhode Island?
No, certification is not required. But, Rhode Island State Board of Pharmacy issues two types of licenses: the first one is for pharmacy technicians who do not have national certification (Tech 1) and for those who do (Tech II).
What are the approved certification exams required by the State Board of Pharmacy in Rhode Island?
The approved certification exams are PTCB (PTCE) and ICPT (ExCPT).
When is registration required to Pharmacy Technicians?
Pharmacy Technician must apply and receive the proof of registration prior to employment.
Is Pharmacy Technician licensure required in Rhode Island?
Yes, the Rhode Island State Board of Pharmacy does require Pharmacy Technicians to obtain license.
What should I do to become a License Pharmacy Technician?
- You have to be at least 18 years old or older.
- Must have a high school diploma or its equivalent or enrolled in a program.
- You must be enrolled in a Board-Approved pharmacy technician training program (can be an employer-based program).
- You must submit a written application requesting registration as a Pharmacy Technician (Tech O or Tech II) at the Rhode Island State Board of Pharmacy. Download application here.
- Include the non-refundable $40 registration fee.
- Must have no felony convictions related to drug abuse.
- Application forms must be notarized before submission.
Is training required for Pharmacy Technicians in Rhode Island?
Yes, pharmacy technicians are required to pass the Board-Approved training program for both levels of licensure.
Are Pharmacy Technicians required to have a Continuing Education or CE?
No, Pharmacy Technicians are not required to get license from the Rhode Island State Board of Pharmacy. However, if you are a nationally certified pharmacy technician and would want to maintain it, you are required to complete 20 units of continuing education every 2 years.
How often is the Pharmacy Technician License renewal required?
Pharmacy technician license should be renewed annually. Registration expires June 30 every year. Renewal forms will be sent to you by the Board of Pharmacy with a corresponding fee of $40.
What must be done if I change jobs or change my home address?
Change of address and job should be reported in writing by the Rhode Island State Board of Pharmacy.
More good to know requirements for Pharmacy Technicians in Rhode Island:
- Technicians must wear a name tag identifying you as the pharmacy technician and licensure designation and must display their license in the pharmacy where it is visible to the public.
- Pharmacy technicians can only perform pharmacy functions that do not require professional judgment.
- All actions of the pharmacy technician are under the look out of the supervising pharmacist or pharmacy-in-charge.
Rhode Island Board of Pharmacy
Office: 3 Capitol Hill, Room 205. Providence, RI 02908-5097
Professional Association for Rhode Island Pharmacy Technicians:
Rhode Island Pharmacists Association