Do Pharmacy Technicians get regulated in South Dakota?
Yes, they do not regulate Pharmacy Technicians in South Dakota.
Is certification required for one to practice as Pharmacy Technician in South Dakota?
No, South Dakota State Board of Pharmacy does not require certification to pharmacy technicians.
What are the approved certification exams required by the State Board of Pharmacy in South Dakota?
There are no approved certification exams in South Dakota.
When is registration required to Pharmacy Technicians?
Pharmacy Technician must apply for registration within 30 days prior to the start of employment. You must also register before starting an on-site practical experience if currently in a technician training program.
Is Pharmacy Technician licensure required in South Dakota?
Yes, the South Dakota State Board of Pharmacy does require Pharmacy Technicians to obtain license.
What should I do to become a License Pharmacy Technician?
- You must be registered and employed as a pharmacy technician within 30 days during the beginning of an employment.
- Another option is to be in a technician-training program and then apply for registration before starting on-site work.
- You must submit a written application requesting registration as a Pharmacy Technician at the South Dakota State Board of Pharmacy
- Include the non-refundable $25 registration fee.
Is training required for Pharmacy Technicians in South Dakota?
Yes, pharmacy technicians are required to complete training under the supervision of a pharmacist. The supervising pharmacist is responsible for the development, implementation and review of the written policies and procedures for the training as well as utilizing pharmacy technicians.
Are Pharmacy Technicians required to have a Continuing Education or CE?
No, Pharmacy Technicians are not required to complete a continuing education in South Dakota.
How often is the Pharmacy Technician License renewal required?
Pharmacy technician license should be renewed annually. Registration expires every year on the 31st of October with a renewal fee of $25. Renewal applications are sent to each pharmacy one month before the expiration date.
What must be done if I change jobs or change my home address?
Change of address or job should be reported in writing to the South Dakota State Board of Pharmacy within 10 days.
More good to know requirements for Pharmacy Technicians in South Dakota:
- Technicians must wear identification badges that are easily seen while on duty clearly identifying him or her as the pharmacy technician. Badges must show their name on it.
- Pharmacy technicians can only perform pharmacy functions that do not require professional judgment.
- All actions of the pharmacy technician are under the look out of the supervising pharmacist or pharmacy-in-charge.
- The supervising pharmacist may oversee two technicians in the workplace. However, in the mail service pharmacies, a pharmacist-in-charge may supervise 4 pharmacy technicians provided two of them are certified by the State Board of Pharmacy in South Dakota.
South Dakota Department of Health — Board of Pharmacy
Office: 3701 West 49th Street, Suite 204. Sioux Falls, SD 57106
Professional Association for South Dakota Pharmacy Technicians:
South Dakota Pharmacists Association (SDPhA)