Do Pharmacy Technicians get regulated in New Mexico?
Yes, Pharmacy Technicians do get regulated in New Mexico.
Is certification required for one to practice as Pharmacy Technician in New Mexico?
Yes, pharmacy technicians are required to get certification before they can practice in New Mexico.
What are the approved certification exams required by the New Mexico State Board of Pharmacy?
The approved certification exams include PTCB (PTCE) and ICPT (ExCPT).
When does Pharmacy Technician registration starts?
Registration is needed by the Pharmacy Technician before employment starts.
Is Pharmacy Technician licensure required in New Mexico?
Yes, pharmacy technicians are required to get a license.
What should I do to become a License Pharmacy Technician?
Is training required for Pharmacy Technicians in New Mexico?
Yes, the pharmacist-in-charge is responsible in overseeing the training of the pharmacy technician.
Are Pharmacy Technicians required to have a Continuing Education or CE?
No, however, to maintain your national certification you are required to complete twenty units of continuing education every two years.
How often is the Pharmacy Technician License renewal required?
It is required biennially. Registration expires on the last day of the pharmacy technician’s birth month with a renewal fee of $30.
What must be done if I change jobs or change my home address?
The New Mexico State Board of Pharmacy must be notified in writing within 10 days.
Other New Mexico Pharmacy Technician requirements to keep in mind:
New Mexico Board of Pharmacy
Office: 5200 Oakland N.E., Suite A. Albuquerque, NM 87113
Telephone: 505-222-9830 or 800-565-9102
Professional Association for New Mexico pharmacy techs:
New Mexico Pharmacists Association