What are the approved certification exams required by the State Board of Pharmacy in Wyoming?
The approved certification exam in Wyoming is ICPT (ExCPT).
Is certification required for Pharmacy Technicians in Wyoming?
Certification for Pharmacy technicians is required by board approved programs.
Is Pharmacy Technician registration required in Wyoming?
Yes, the Wyoming State Board of Pharmacy does require Pharmacy Technicians to obtain registration before working in a pharmacy.
Is training required for Pharmacy Technicians in Wyoming?
Yes. Pharmacy technicians are required to undergo training under the supervision of the pharmacist-in-charge. The supervising pharmacist is also responsible in maintaining and keeping records of the training. The National Pharmacy Technician Training Program should be part of this training.
Are Pharmacy Technicians required to get their license in Wyoming?
Yes, Pharmacy Technicians are required to get a license in Wyoming.
What should I do to become a License Pharmacy Technician?
- Applicant must be at least 18 years old.
- Applicant must have no felony or misdemeanor convictions related to controlled substances within 36 months of licensure application.
- Must have a high school diploma or its equivalent.
- Pharmacy technician applicant must be free of any drug abuse history or may provide satisfactory proof of total rehabilitation.
- A technician-in-training application must be submitted valid for two years. Include the waiver upon submission. This is non-renewable. You may contact the Wyoming State Board of Pharmacy for the application. This will serve as your work permit until you are qualified to become a technician.
- Must be able to provide proof of current board approved certification program..
- Must submit an application of licensure as a technician to the Wyoming Board of Pharmacy including payment of $15.
Are Pharmacy Technicians required to have a Continuing Education or CE?
The Wyoming State Board of Pharmacy does not require continuing education to pharmacy technicians. However, those pharmacy technicians who want to renew their license are required to submit 6 contact hours of approved continuing education.
How often is the Pharmacy Technician License renewal required?
Pharmacy technician license should be renewed annually on the 31st of December with a renewal fee of $35.
Other Important Information Pharmacy Technicians Should Know About:
- Pharmacy technicians or pharmacy technician-in-training may perform certain duties or functions in the absence of the pharmacist-in-charge but with at least one supervising pharmacist in the building provided no prescription products are release until the pharmacist returns back and gives his or her authority to release the items.
- A retail pharmacy must be closed if there is no supervising pharmacist around. Pharmacy technicians or pharmacy technician-in-training are also not allowed to stay in the pharmacy.
- One pharmacist may leave the pharmacy premise if there are 2 pharmacists working at the same time and the pharmacy can remain open. However the ratio of pharmacy technician to pharmacist must not be more than 3:1.
- A pharmacist may supervise 3 technicians and do pharmacy functions. However, pharmacy technicians present must be registered pharmacy technician, registered with the board, or technicians-in-training licensed. But those pharmacy technician-in-training enrolled in Casper College, Pharmacy Technician Training Program and those with pharmacy technician-in-training permit issued by the State Board of Pharmacy in Wyoming is not counted in the ratio.
Wyoming State Board of Pharmacy
Address: 1712 Carey Avenue, Suite 200. Cheyenne, WY 82002